Governance and Structure

The legislation establishing NIMR has vested its governance oversight in the Institute’s Council which operates through three committees, namely Appointments and Disciplinary Committee; Finance and Planning Committee; and Medical Research Coordination Committee (MRCC). The MRCC has a sub-committee known as the National Health Research Ethics Review Committee that oversees ethical issues on submitted health research proposals. The Director General (DG) is the Chief Executive Officer and leads the management team composed of Coordinating Directors at the headquarters and Centre Directors. The Coordinating Directorate are Finance and Administration, Research Coordination and Promotion and Information Technology and Communication.

Prof. Wenceslaus L. Kilama 1980 – 1997

Dr. Andrew Y. Kitua  1997-2009

Dr. Mwelecele N. Malecela 2010 – Todate

The Governing Council is responsible for the performance of the functions and management of the affairs of the institute.  The Council is made up of a Chairman and twelve members.  The Council Chairman is appointed by the President of the United Republic of Tanzania, whereas other Council members are appointed by the Minister for Health. Since 1980, NIMR has had three Director General, Prof. Wenceslaus L. Kilama (1980-1997), Dr. Andrew Y. Kitua (1997-2009) and Dr. Mwelecele N. Malecela (2010 – to date).